Goodbye Gothenburg

Trams of GBG
Iconic trams of GBG

Gothenburg (Göteborg/GBG) quickly became a place I could comfortably call home. A city not as beautiful on first impressions as its big sister Stockholm, but stay a month and the charm of the city will entrance you – the trams rattling down the centre of the road, the canal winding thru the city, the friendly caring people and the absolute ease of access to the Swedish fairy tale forest.

GBG is a big city (by Nordic standards) with a small town feeling. Marketing themselves as an events city, there is always something to do, be it the International Film Festival, Way Out West 3 day Festival, live bands from around the world pass through all year round, street festivals, underground nightlife, marathons, and failing that, there are endless forests to hike in and rocks to climb.

A former industrial city, there are big plans to redevelop the water front and redefine the cities image – which is great, but lets hope the uniqueness and charm of the city is not lost as it grows.

Based in the fancy-pants neighborhood of Hovås, the forest was literally outside my bedroom window which competed in many hours of staring contests as I gazed outside, and even more hours in my company whenever the weather was satisfactory – by Swedish standards. A 5 minute walk into the forest following deer paths up a hill and the forest opened up exposing a view of the entire southern archipelago with glimpses of the iconic cranes in the city.

The only downside was the hour long journey into the city via bus – i.e reading time.

Room with a View
Room with a View
Sunset from the top
Sunset from the top

As my sisters brother @_monkeyonmyback_ so poetically described Gothenburg:

The perfect description of Gothenburg
The perfect description of Gothenburg

I will miss the good times rock climbing indoors and out, picking berries in the forest, swimming to my island, stalking deer while hiking in the forest, fika, the food, the people, the laughs, the cries, the drinks, the drunks, the style, the language, the random acts of kindness. Göteborg you have been great, come visit me sometime.

Until next time, goodbye Gothenburg.

Snowwhite
Snowwhite
My island
My island
My Island
My Island
Road to my house
Road to my house
My favourite bus stop - based on the hours I spent waiting in the Swedish weather
My favourite bus stop – based on the hours I spent waiting
Forest walks.
Forest walks.
First swim of the year and in Sweden, in April.
First swim of the year and in Sweden.
More muscles than I've ever seen
More muscles than I could handle
Rock climbing just outside GBG
Rock climbing just outside GBG
Climbing in my forest
Climbing in my forest

Wrong Floor – Drive Motion Picture Soundtrack (Cliff Martinez)
MMOTHS – THNX
The Trip – Still Corners
Just Saying – Jamie XX
Mexican Grand Prix (Reworked by RM Hubbert) – Mogwai
Everloving – Moby
Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad – Moby
Sea – Roosevelt
Sun In The Morning – Future Islands
Seaside Town – Baths
Neo Violence – The Tough Alliance [the sole reason I am in Sweden today is because this song came on the late night video hits on the TV when I was 17 and from then I was obsessed]
Porcelain – Moby
All I Ever Need – Caribou
Seesaw – Jamie XX

Leave a Reply

