The Next Chapter – Uganda

The African Sunrise. Something special, an experience uniquely African. The sky on the horizon illuminated in a perfect blend of yellow, orange and red haze that is indistinguishably the definition of dawn. The sparse arid vegetation silhouetted by the gigantic red orange rising star which we so delicately orbit, known as, THE sun. One can't help but feel a sense of awe while an overriding calm takes over the and soothes the witnesses soul. The African sunrise is the definition of beauty. Africa is beauty. The people, the landscapes, the flora, the fauna.
The African Sunrise.
Something special, an experience uniquely African.
The sky on the horizon illuminated in a perfect blend of yellow, orange and red haze that is indistinguishably the definition of dawn.
The sparse arid vegetation silhouetted by the gigantic red orange rising star which we so delicately orbit, known as, THE sun.
One cannot help but feel a sense of awe while an overriding calm takes over the and soothes the witnesses soul.
The African sunrise is the definition of beauty.
Africa is beauty. The people, the landscapes, the flora, the fauna.

The time has come for me to leave the EU. The time has come to give something back for all I have so gratefully received this past year and throughout my lifetime.

I have received many many random acts of kindness from complete strangers and new friends. I have been picked up while hitch hiking in the rain in the middle of no where and given a ride, a meal, and a bed. Hitch hiking changed my view on the world, taught me that beauty lies in every soul and that if you trust in your gut/spirit you will always be where you need to be. It taught me to practice random acts of kindness everyday, and that in turn taught me the true value in helping people and making the world a better place in the smallest of ways – anyone can do it and its free. A message that I have always heard but never learnt until my hitch hiking trip in Norway.

I have a one way ticket to Uganda to volunteer at an NGO social development project. Thru educating farmers and sensitising the community on food security, teaching in orphanages, HIV/AIDS information sessions, arts and music events in the community.

While I am not going to save the world, this is at a minimum a way to travel and live among locals while giving something back and earning my place to stay. Africa is a stunning and mysterious continent and – having routes ingrained in Zimbabwe – I feel a connection to the land, the people and the wildlife.

Every person I have met this past year has taught me something, inspired me in some way, or at the very least showed me how far I have come. I have no idea what  I will learn about myself and the world from my time in Eastern Africa, I look forward to what ever it may hold.

The world is a beautiful place.

Namibia
Namibia
Matopos Zimbabwe
Matopos Zimbabwe

Watch my previous adventure in Africa at my cousins wedding:

Password: Bulawayo2015

<p><a href=”https://vimeo.com/129378847″>Zimbabwe 2015</a> from <a href=”https://vimeo.com/bestilld”>bestill photography</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

One thought on “The Next Chapter – Uganda

Leave a Reply

